Chocolate Whoopie Pies

IMG_1818Well have I got a treat for you today! I have been having a very healthy weekend making these little treasures and I am writing this post whilst indulging in nachos with cheese running down my chin- I’m a bride in training don’t you know?!

Today was the first time I have ever baked or even tasted whoopee pies. I saw the recipe in my Mary Berry cookbook and thought I would give it a whirl. I wish I had actually seen some pictures of what they were meant to look like before I started as they aren’t the traditional shape. I don’t know why but I had it in my head they were meant to be oval shape! I also thought they were similar to macaroons before I looked at the recipe so it’s a miracle these weren’t a complete disaster really!

Please take the time to swoon over my beautiful vintage style cake stand whilst you’re at it!

Ingredients:

    • 375g (12oz) plain flour
    • 60g (2oz) cocoa powder
    • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
    • 150g (5oz) soft butter
    • 200g (7oz) light muscovado sugar
    • 1 large egg
    • 300ml (1/2 pint) soured cream

Filling:

  • 125g (4oz) soft butter
  • 250g (8oz) icing sugar, sifted
  • 1tsp vanilla extract

Topping:

  • 125g (5oz) icing sugar
  • 2tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cold water
  • Sprinkles to decorate if you so wish.

Method:

IMG_1801

  • Line 2 baking trays with baking parchment. Sift the flour, cocoa powder and bicarb into a bowl.
  • Put the butter, sugar, egg, and soured cream into another bowl, and beat with an electric whisk until evenly combined and smooth. Add half of the flour mixture and beat until smooth, add the remainder until thick but smooth.
  • Place 15 rounded spoonfuls of the mixture onto each baking parchment, leaving room between them for the cakes to spread during baking
  • Bake in a pre-heated oven (180 degrees C, 160 fan, gas 4) for 15-20 minutes until risen and firm to touch- they will be cracked in the middle slightly. Leave to cool and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
    IMG_1804
    • Make the filling by putting the butter into a bowl with 1/2 of the icing sugar and beat with an electric whisk until creamy. Add the remainder and beat again then stir in the vanilla extract. I matched up the cakes halves with a similar size/shape one and then spread the filling onto one half. Sandwich them together.
    • Make the topping by sifting the icing sugar and cocoa powder into a bowl, add the water and mix into a smooth paste. Spread the chocolate topping over the top (and best looking half) and then add sprinkles if you wish. I found the sprinkles didn’t stick very well so decided against.
      IMG_1808IMG_1810IMG_1812IMG_1817

     

     

    They really are delicious and well worth a go. If you enjoy making cupcakes you will enjoy making these. I found the sponge was very moist and not too heavy and the whole thing was filling but didn’t give you that ‘I want to go into a cake coma’ feeling. Even Steve, who doesn’t have a sweet tooth (I know, why am I marrying him?) really liked them and is looking forward to helping me finish off the batch!

      Let me know what you think and please share any whoopee pie recipes in different flavours as I will definitely be trying these again.

      This recipe is from ‘Mary Berry’s complete cookbook’

    IMG_1816

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Whoopie Pies

  1. Pingback: A crisp, sunny adventure |

Leave a Reply

