Homemade burlap printed coasters

Hello! Today I wanted to share with you a little homemade craft project I have completed. As you may have seen from my previous posts burlap placemats I am a big fan of this fabric and also printing. I have dabbled in lino printing and this time I have been experimenting with stencil printing.

IMG_1783

I had been looking for coasters to go with my old 1960s trunk for quite a while. I had found some slate ones which I really liked and went beautifully with the style of my living room BUT they stained like crazy! Putting anything on them would cause watermarks which was driving me insane! So, I decided to get my trusty burlap, fabric and paints out and get thrifty.
IMG_1803
They are super simple but very effective. Simply cut the size square of burlap you want. The trick with cutting burlap is to cut along the single thread (this may not appear to be a straight line- put your tape measure away!) I then pulled off a couple of threads along each side as I like to have a frayed edge.
IMG_1804IMG_1801

Next, cut out some triangles of any fabric you like and arrange it on the coaster and then sew a line using your sewing machine (you could also do this by hand if you don’t have a machine). I printed out some different fonts that I really liked and then used a craft knife to cut around the outsides of the letters, leaving a template to stipple paint onto the fabric.

Hey presto, you have some fabulous homemade coasters! I decided to make 2 different variations as I like a bit more of a mis-match effect but you could take any approach you want.

Let me know what you think. What crafty projects have you done using burlap?! Next burlap project…wedding bunting!

3 thoughts on “Homemade burlap printed coasters

  1. Pingback: No-sew Burlap Curtains for the Craft Room The Flying C

Leave a Reply

