Book club

A promise (yes, promise not resolution) I have made to myself this year is that I want to read more books. I seem to spend quite a bit of my spare time reading, never a book but…blogs… reviews…Twitter…Facebook. Everyone in the blogging community knows how you can waste hours of your evening scrolling through, catching up on all your favourite blogs. Well I’m not saying that this is going to stop for me, just that I am going to make time in my evenings to also sit down and read a good book (well, Kindle book at least).

So I have decided that I am going to read 1 book a month. This should be do-able for an average length book. I am going to post the titles and book covers on here and hope you will join me. I find it quite difficult to find books that I like the sound of so I would also love any recommendations.

February’s title: The Girl You Left Behind by JoJo Moyes.
17572903

I actually Chose this book as it was featured on Stripes & Sequins and I really liked the sound of it.

Here’s the blurb:
In 1916, French artist Edouard Lefevre leaves his wife Sophie to fight at the Front. When her town falls into German hands, his portrait of Sophie stirs the heart of the local Kommandant and causes her to risk everything – her family, reputation and life – in the hope of seeing her true love one last time.

Nearly a century later and Sophie’s portrait is given to Liv by her young husband shortly before his sudden death. Its beauty speaks of their short life together, but when the painting’s dark and passion-torn history is revealed, Liv discovers that the first spark of love she has felt since she lost him is threatened…

In The Girl You Left Behind two young women, separated by a century, are united in their determination to fight for the thing they love most – whatever the cost.

If you would like to read this with me you can purchase it here at Amazon or in any good book shop.

Happy reading!

One thought on “Book club

Leave a Reply

