Homemade lip scrub

If you are anything like me, your lips have been really suffering this winter. It doesn’t matter how much lip balm (even the rescue/intensive kind) I slather onto my lips, 5 minutes later they are craving more! I LOVE lipsticks but no one wants to see a bright red flaky lips.

lip scrub

I’ve been investigating different products but for some reason lip scrub is something I do not want to hand over cash for. I think it’s because I have read so many different reviews for various products and they always have mixed reviews. If this is something you do not agree with please let me know – I would love to find THE lip scrub for me.

Whilst my quest continues, I decided to make my own homemade version, and I’ve got to say…I like it.

IMG_1545
What you need:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2-4 drops essential oils (optional)

Some recipes suggest warming the oil in the microwave first. I do not own a microwave so ignored this instruction and it made no difference. Mix all the ingredients together and hey presto, you have a great lip treatment. If you find it is a little oily, like I did, I just added a bit more sugar until I achieved the consistency I wanted.

IMG_1547

The honey helps add to the flavour so it tastes nice and sweet. Rub it all over your lips, leave it to sink in for a couple of minutes and then rub it off.

Let me know if you enjoyed this scrub or if you have any other homemade recipes.

3 thoughts on “Homemade lip scrub

  1. Hello!! I have a Lush lipscrub, which I use occasionally, but it’s basically just sugar. I have a feeling my little pot will last me forever though (although I’m not sure how long you should keep lip scrubs for – what do you think? A couple of years, then chuck them?). xx

    • The Lush lipscrub is one I have heard very mixed reviews about! I think a couple of years is probably pushing it but it depends how picky you want to be I suppose. For most make-up they say 3 months (lip and eye related products) but who keeps to that?! Think this one will keep me going for a while.

  2. Pingback: Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm | Bells, Bows and Bella

Leave a Reply

