Blogsteria

It has been a looong time since I last posted! Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be one of those ‘I’ve had too much going on in my life’ followed by a rant of everything that has been happening, only for me to stop posting a week later. This is more of a realisation post.

life balance

Blogging is something that is new to me and I have only been doing it for a short amount of time. I really enjoyed setting up my own page and loading photos of things that I love in my life, sharing craft projects and baking successes and disasters! However, I quickly got caught up in the ‘blogsteria’ and put pressure on myself to blog everyday and to blog about everything that I do. Well, unfortunately life got in the way and I was unable to keep it up, which then put me off blogging altogether.

work life balance
I am still an avid reader of other people’s blogs and really missed doing my own. Whilst reading people’s posts in the beginning of January (many of which were inevitably resolution based) I read one which inspired me. Unfortunately I can’t remember who is was, otherwise I would give them credit, but they explained the pressure they had been putting on themselves to blog everyday and how this wasn’t healthy. They made a resolution to create a balance in their blogging life and to post as often as they could. This made me think…if this person (who had thousands of followers) can take this approach, why can’t I?

So…Bells, Bows and Bella will be more active in the future, posting projects and photos which will hopefully interest and inspire you…with a healthier balance!

Have you had a similar ‘blogsteria’ experience? What have you done to overcome it?

3 thoughts on “Blogsteria

  1. Ah, I remember those days, and they were only last year! I started blogging in November of 2012. However, December through February were my months of understanding the power of words, publicity, and attention. I was blogging nonstop. I had to change this. I figured I had to please thousands of followers every week. So, I posted about two articles a week. That was intense for me if my average was around 900 words a post. I was unemployed at the time, and fresh from graduating in September, 2012. After I gave myself a much needed break from blogging, I couldn’t believe how many followers still stayed with me. Now, that’s commitment! I am actually balancing four blogs now. My main dating and relationship one, the Bilingual Tutor one (if I feel inspired), poetic one (also if I’m feeling poetically inspired), and a project of writing a blog post for 365 days of the year to reflect on someone that is important to me. I don’t write everyday for all, but one. So, I am keeping it balanced.

    I created the poetic one to ease out the tension of writing a 900 word article. Then, the other two came into the new year. Just focus on how much time you want to invest, and if it’s a matter of pleasing yourself more or others. It can get out of hand without structure. Blogging is an addition for aspiring writers. I would know. πŸ˜‰

    • Hi, thanks for the comment letting me know I’m not alone. Although 4 blogs seem like a lot to keep up with! Is blogging your full time work? I think that’s one of difficulties I have. I am a teacher so have lots of work to do at home which will often eat into my blogging time. I think you’re right, I need to create a structure that works for me.

      • Blogging is more of a side hobby because I don’t have anything else to do with my life outside the 7:30 – 2:10 school schedule. I thought about a second job after tutoring (for 6 hours a day) but I like blogging for now. As I’ve said, I am not worried about maintaining a weekly post goal, but producing results whenever I can, or even whenever I want in that case.

Leave a Reply

